P3 – Photography

P3CourtneyEutslerDescription: This design is a touched up photograph with type and color elements.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): After a photo session with my digital camera, I selected a photograph that followed an asymmetric style with interest and a color scheme I could use. I brought the photo into Photoshop where I adjusted the light levels, vibrancy/saturation, colors and sharpness. I reevaluated my colors and shifted some of the colors to match the color scheme. I tried a few designs and with the help of many critiques, selected one that would work. I added bubbles of color which I texturized to match the photo’s style. I then added text to illustrate the message best.

Message: The message is that every decoration and element has a place.

Audience: The audience is directed to those who are decorating their homes.

Top Thing Learned: I learned to mind my proof and be very careful with it.

Color scheme and color names: Split complementary – gold, purple, lime

Title Font Name & Category: Tempus Sans ITC

Copy Font Name & Category: Tempus Sans ITC

Thumbnail of original, unedited image inserted

IMG_0205

Date and location you took the photo(s) February 3, 2015 Ivy Lobby

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to P3 – Photography

  1. I really like your poster. I like your repetition of the circles. I also really like your color scheme. Good job using PhotoShop to get the colors to stand out more. I really like the font that you used and you have really good alignment.
    Check out Brain’s blog at https://communicationsbrianstanfill.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. jackgrivas says:

    Awesome job on the design! I love the circles you used for your swatches, and the texture you had on them really made them pop out of the design. I feel like the orbs looks a little shinier in the design than the original photo which is a super nice touch. The color scheme matches perfectly well the the photo, well done!
    You can check out my post at:
    https://jackgreavescomm.wordpress.com/2015/02/06/project-3-photodesign/

    Like

  3. Cool photo! It took me a while to take it all in, but that is what the 30 seconds of observation is for, right? I like the color scheme too. It goes along with the shapes in your photo and the objects you’ve added. I really like the quote as well. Additionally, the repetition adds to the whole picture. Nicely done.
    Check out Desiree’s cool project:
    https://bluebabyblog.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a comment